Saint Gwyddelan’s Church, Dolwyddelan

Grade 1 building. Handsome roof and barrel- vaulted chancel with a carving of the Dolwyddelan Dragon.

The present church replaced an earlier one and was named after a Celtic missionary, ‘Gwyddelan’ (the Little Irishman). It was built about 1500 by Meredith Wynne and the south chapel was added later in the 16th century by Robert Wynne, the same Wynne family of Gwydir Castle, Llanrwst and Plas Mawr, Conwy. The memorial in the nave, to members of his family, was erected in the 17th century.

Pews, pulpit and lectern date from the early 18th century. A Celtic hand bell of cast bronze, hanging in the church, has been dated to 800AD and is by far the oldest item in the building.
This small church is one of the best examples of its age in North Wales. It has great atmosphere and is a charming place for worship. A visit is strongly recommended.

Please click on the History link above to download a copy of our guide leaflet.

Service Times

First Sunday
09.30,Family Service
Second Sunday
09.30,Holy Eucharist
Third Sunday
09.30,Holy Eucharist
Fourth Sunday
09.30,Holy Eucharist
Fifth Sunday
09.30,Holy Eucharist

Other Services

Every Tuesday 17.00,Evening Prayer

Opening Times

The old Celtic bell, Cloch Gwyddelan, which may date back to the 7th century.
The Dolwyddelan Dragon carving.

Public Transport

The church is located approximately 100yds from Dolwyddelan railway station on the Llandudno Junction to Blaenau Ffestiniog line.

Access

To see this map cookies and javascript must be enabled. If you are still having trouble after having checked both of these please contact us using the link at the top of the page