Sunday Morning 11:30am
Llanfihangel y Traethau means “St Michael’s on the Beaches” and the site of this church holds a whole host of history.
One interesing item in the church yard is a unique memorial surviving from the days before grave stones were common practise. It is a square, narrow pillar with a 12th century inscription in its four faces, the inscription reads.
HIC EST SEPULCHRUM WLEDER MATRIS (H)ODELEV QUIPRIMUM AEDIFICAVIT HANC ECCLESIAM IN TEMPORE EWINI REG(is)
HERE IS THE GRAVE OF WLEDER MOTHER OF HOEDLIW WHO FIRST BUILT THIS CHURCH IN THE REIGN OF KING OWAIN GWYNEDD
(inscription transcribed and read by W.J.Hemp, FSA)
Little is known about how the Church looked back then; it was altered several times over the years and was re-built in 1871 (the vestry was added around 1883).
Mr Tecwyn Williams 01766 780563